Reason why we make Irrational Decisions.

The most irrational decision that I’ve made in my life is building the wall of self-denial of my own strengths and abilities to perform and being too overly cautious whenever I’m around people.

This being so, has caused my life to turn haywire for several years. Many advices that I’ve received from close friends, mentors and relatives helped me slowly realise these decisions were wrong. From the theories and concepts I’ve learnt today, I’m going to focus one one concept to explain the cause of me to make irrational decisions.

‘’Anchoring or Focalism is a cognitive bias that describes the common human tendency to rely too heavily, or “anchor,” on one trait or piece of information when making decisions.’’

This theory has a concept that fits the description of my predicament.

From the aspect of Anchoring, two separate entities as being formed.

‘The Focusing effect’ and ‘Anchoring and adjustment heuristic’.

The focusing effect (or focusing illusion) is a cognitive bias that occurs when people place too much importance on one aspect of an event, causing an error in accurately predicting the utility of a future outcome.

Due to the fact that I am a perfectionist, I tend to focus too much attention on a certain aspect of an event, which I had made an assumption that nothing will go wrong. However, when I do so, I tend to misjudge critical factors and oversee them, causing negative feedbacks.

Anchoring and adjustment is a psychological heuristic that influences the way people intuitively assess probabilities.  

This is evident as I tend to do so when I was young and afraid to make such mistakes. The drawback therefore, is a shadow that I’ve formed overtime, which constantly influenced my decision making process and resulting in unsatisfied results.

Leave a Reply

